Cadi Klein immigrated from Krojanke, Germany in 1881 and found employment in a Cartage clothing store owned by his uncle, A. H. Goldstein. After working for his uncle for eight years, Klein took over management of the Model Clothing Company in Joplin as Goldstein’s partner. Eventually he purchased his uncle’s interest and became sole owner of the firm. Known for more than his successful clothing store, Klein played a significant role in Joplin’s Jewish community. He was instrumental in the organization of the United Hebrew Congregation, serving as Vice-President on the first board of officers in 1916, Klein and other members of the United Hebrew Congregation’s building committee retained architect Austin Allen to design the majestic and unique synagogue that still stands today at 702 South Sergeant.
Only a short distance from the synagogue he helped establish stands Klein’s home. It is an excellent example of Victorian architecture, built in the 1890’s the house features many unique and handsome architectural details, but the corner fireplace is especially appealing with its raised classic figure tiles. The tile in the top corner is a portrait of Michelangelo. This outstanding example is similar to one designed by Isaac Broome, prominent 19th century American ceramic sculpture
Clara Berlowitz Klein was also born in Germany. As a member of the United Hebrew Congregation, Mrs. Klein was one of the presidents of its Ladies’ Aid Society and for many years taught Sunday school.
407-409 S. Main St., c. 1899 Late 19th and 20th Century Revivals ~ Two-Part Commercial Block
This gray brick, three-story building is an excellent example of the influence of Revivalism on commercial architecture. The building is four bays wide, defined by symmetrical upper-story fenestration. Decorative elements on the upper façade wall include pilasters with Doric capitals, arched windows with pressed brick lintels and exaggerated keystones, and a full-width pressed metal cornice featuring brackets, swags, and dentils. The first story has two separate storefronts within the historic cast iron framing system – a small storefront at the north end and the double width storefront at the south end. The south storefront retains the original deeply recessed entrance characterized by arched openings and multiple display windows. Despite the replacement of the upper-story windows and small north storefront, the building retains its character-defining high-style decorative elements, fenestration pattern, unique façade treatment, and the historic south storefront. This building retains sufficient architectural integrity to clearly convey its historic associations…
The Model Clothing Store Building. This building replaced two earlier, two-story buildings. It is a rare surviving example of the work of the Joplin architect, August Michaelis. The building’s earliest occupants were the Criterion Saloon (north storefront) and Cadi Klein’s Model Clothing Store, an elite Joplin clothier. Both were long-lived commercial ventures that survived into the 1960s and 1970s. Over the years, the upper floors contained various occupants including a photography studio, and Michaelis’ architectural office. The existing south storefront and parapet wall date to post a c.1902 remodeling.